A few less than 1000 words

Hello, lovely readers! I’m sorry it has been such a long time since I have been present on this wonderful communication resource! The main reason is that I have been having trouble getting the pictures that I have taken on my phone to upload onto the blog and I really wanted to show you some of the wonderful things Will and I have seen. Of course most of the pictures I would want to share would be on my phone and not on my actual camera. This is 2014 after all. Anyway, I think I have figured out a way to do it! Huzzah! So, with no further ado, here are a few sights of our African adventures.

This is a Jacaranda tree. They bloom a beautiful purple, as you can see, and then the flowers fall off and they look like a regular, green-leaved tree.

This is a Jacaranda tree. They bloom a beautiful purple, as you can see, and then the flowers fall off and they look like a regular, green-leaved tree.

This is a beautiful red flower that was just sitting by the side of the road.

This is a beautiful red flower that was just sitting by the side of the road.

This lovely flower is my African, African violet....from Africa. My mom had these growing up. I have one too...from Africa.

This lovely flower is my African, African violet….from Africa. My mom had these growing up. I have one too…from Africa.

As, I have mentioned before, the trees here are VIBRANT! This picture doesn't really do justice to the vibrancy. But, yes, it is a red tree.

As, I have mentioned before, the trees here are VIBRANT! This picture doesn’t really do justice to the vibrancy. But, yes, it is a red tree.

There are Birds of Paradise all over the place...this one I believe is the one outside our door.

There are Birds of Paradise all over the place…this one I believe is the one outside our door.

This may look like a normal bird. It's not. It is blue on the outside, but the underside of the wings is a brilliant tangerine color. I don't know the name of the bird, but I have taken to calling it "my bird".

This may look like a normal bird. It’s not. It is blue on the outside, but the underside of the wings is a brilliant tangerine color. I don’t know the name of the bird, but I have taken to calling it “my bird”.

DOUBLE RAINBOW!!! They are just as amazing in Africa. And it was a complete one!. I just didn't do a good job of capturing while Will was driving. Sorry.

DOUBLE RAINBOW!!! They are just as amazing in Africa. And it was a complete one!. I just didn’t do a good job of capturing while Will was driving. Sorry.

The boy peacock doing its best to woo the peahen. She was not impressed.

The boy peacock doing its best to woo the peahen. She was not impressed.

Monkey!

Monkey!

IMG_0638

Monkey!

Monkey!

Don't worry, we've been feeding Will well.

Don’t worry, we’ve been feeding Will well.

Will is having a staring contest with a South African seal. It won...it's made of metal.

Will is having a staring contest with a South African seal. It won…it’s made of metal.

More to come, once I forgive the Chromebook for making this so difficult in the first place.

Much love!

Katie

2 thoughts on “A few less than 1000 words

  1. Pingback: This Week’s Links « Timothy Siburg

Leave a Reply

