#thisisafrica

On New Year’s Eve, Will and I went on an excursion. We traveled to a place called the Midlands and went shopping. By the time we arrived there, everything was open for another 2 hours. We didn’t know this when we left home. Anyway, this is just context for the story that I am about to tell.

In the car on the way to the Midlands, I at some point said to Will, “if I ever become the person that says ‘hashtag (insert thing here)’ make me stop immediately”. The whole hashtag thing is just something that I have thought was silly. I am not a part of the Twitter world, and I think it’s silly to use verbal hashtags-not least of all for the reason that I grew up calling it a pound sign. Whatever, I made Will promise me that he would stop me.

And then we had the return trip to Gillitts…

I don’t actually remember what prompted the comment, but somehow Will got on the subject of things that happen in Africa that you just become accustomed to because you are in Africa. This comment prompted me to say “hashtag this is Africa”. Upon uttering this phrase for the first time, I melted into a puddle of mush. Had I not just stated that I would not be one of those people? Yes. Yes, I did. And no sooner did I make this promise that I came up with a phrase that turned me into a hash-tagger. I’ve been infected and I cannot stop myself. It’s a disease that is taking over my mind. Each time I think of something that happens here and I don’t think it’s weird because I’m here, in Africa, I immediately follow it up with a thought of “hashtag, this is Africa.” MAKE IT STOP!

….

Well, since I cannot seem to stop thinking of things to hashtag as African, I will share them with you as well.

During New Year’s Eve fireworks- “are those fireworks or gunshots we just heard?” #thisisafrica

“Oh, we didn’t blow a breaker, it’s just load-shedding.” #thisisafrica

“Don’t worry, I’ll just creep across the intersection on the red light” said the policeman #thisisafrica

“the geckos just pooped on me…again” #thisisafrica

“there’s a monkey in the hammock” #thisisafrica

“Going to the grocery store (or anywhere)? Shoes not required.” #thisisafrica

a man was trampled in his backyard by a hippo. #thisisafrica

These are just a few of the many that have been running rampant in my head in the past 24 hours. I can’t help it. Modern lingo, what have you done to me?!

Cheers, Everyone! (it means goodbye here #thisisafrica)

Katie

One thought on “#thisisafrica

  1. Pingback: This Week’s Links « Timothy Siburg

Leave a Reply

